Bluebird Restaurant, Chelsea

Last weekend, C and I followed advice of well-accustomed Londoner’s and went to the Blue-Bird Restaurant in Chelsea. I was very excited about this little adventure, hoping to spot some ‘Made in Chelsea’ characters, as they seem to spend a majority of time at this venue. (Yes ashamedly, I loved the show.) Sadly,  this wasn’t the case but I very much enjoyed my evening non-the-less.

Great value, more importantly great food, and most surprisingly great service (even when I managed to smash my water tumbler on the floor! *cringe*) A brilliant laid back atmosphere, with a  horizon of tables enough for 200 covers at any-one-time. Deep velvet red adorned with walls, with fresh flowers balanced precariously on the marbled bar top that circles the entrance. I reminded me instantaneously of  an 1950’s jazz bar-that cool, too-cool-for-school ambiance!

Check this out…for £25 you can enjoy three course and a glass of champagne whilst you dine at this famous restaurant on the King’s Road-even at the weekend!

Who said you don’t get value for money in London!?

2013-02-10 12.11.31

Often I find if you opt for a set-menu you are presented with tiny portions that are over seasoned and over-cooked; this was simply not the case at the bluebird.

For my started I had the cheese and onion hash  with brown black pudding, duck egg and  mustard dressing. This was divine! Nothing is more satisfying when you split the yolk of your perfectly cooked egg, bursting the skin allowing the liquid to cascade over your plate!

2013-02-10 12.11.39

C had the celeriac soup with William’s pear. He looks awfully satisfied doesn’t he?

For someone who doesn’t eat ‘rabbit food’ he licked the bowl clean!

2013-02-10 12.11.43

For mains we both had the hanger steak  with fries and  bearnaise sauce.

(although this looks a small steak , it was very thick-the photograph is deceiving!)

2013-02-10 12.11.37

2013-02-10 12.11.47 2013-02-10 12.11.50

For dessert I had the banana sticky toffee pudding with clotted cream. Sickly and yum!

2013-02-09 23.12.37

C had the chocolate tart with milk ice cream, which once again he ate too quickly for me to photograph! This is becoming a standard problem in our relationship.

Not forgetting out glasses of champagne…

2013-02-10 12.11.34

Now whose’s looking satisfied?!

2013-02-10 12.11.26

Although I hasten to add, my satisfaction soon withered away as soon as I reached the snow in York the following day, with the stark realisation that my dissertation deadline is forever creeping near! I kept telling myself,  it would be tiresome and boring to have this much fun all the time; however convincing myself of this, is the challenge I have yet to conquer!

Is there anywhere else  I just must try when I’m next gallivanting in the Big Smoke?

Suggestions very welcome.

This entry was posted in Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment